Skip to content

America’s Test Kitchen’s Classic Bread Pudding

October 21, 2012

Classic Bread Pudding with Bourbon-Brown Sugar Sauce

Did you catch Christina Applegate’s Saturday Night Live monologue last weekend? She sang. She sang and sounded great (I had no idea she can sing). And she sang about the still stress-free-pre-holiday-mid-October-season. You know, when it’s still two weeks before Halloween and the intensity of holiday errands and parties have not yet kicked in. The monologue ended and I thought that the clever SNL writers articulated (in a song) what we all subconsciously know. Mid-October is probably the most restful-ish fourth quarter of our 2012… of my 2012. It’s after my birthday and just right before holiday madness. Thanks to the brilliance of SNL, from now on I will make it a point to be mellow-yellow every mid-October for all the years to come. Except when I decide to bring back month-long birthday celebrations like I used to before I hit the big 3-0. I turned 30 this year and I felt nothing. Absolutely nothing. I take that as a good sign.

Challah Bread

If you are relishing your chill middle of the month weekend like me, I share with you America’s Test Kitchen’s orgasmic Classic Bread Pudding.

It is indeed orgasmic. This Classic Bread Pudding is everything that a bread pudding should be. Creamy but not soggy. Rich but not tooth-achingly sweet. Classic but definitely not boring. This bread pudding is like the Ralph Lauren of desserts. All-American. Old school classic (I use that term to describe bread pudding as time-tested) but sensational. And just like Ralph Lauren, you will find that you will often reach for this dessert in your wardrobe of tried and tested recipes.

Challah Bread

Five reasons why you need to make this bread pudding this Fall:

  • Challah Bread – toasted to dry out so it absorbs all that custard
  • Luscious custard – you won’t overcook it guaranteed, it’s ATK folks
  • Crunchy topping – a result of reserved toasted challah bread sprinkled on top with brown sugar
  • Bourbon-Brown Sugar Sauce – ’nuff said
  • Repeat: BOURBON!

Classic Bread Pudding with Bourbon-Brown Sugar Sauce

Hope you are registered on ATK’s website so you can access this recipe. This also aired on ATK’s show on PBS. If you are registered, the bread pudding recipe is here. And if you have membership, the Bourbon-Brown Sugar recipe is here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Griz permalink
    October 26, 2012 11:35 am

    All I want for my birthday/Christmas/anniversary(TBD)/friendship is a taste of your bread pudding.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 507 other followers

