Skip to content

the new blog and future baking business

April 22, 2010

shells

My 2nd blog post at 11:27 pm. I seem to start a new trend here, drafting my post while watching Friends and Family Guy reruns on channel 5.

I am beyond thrilled that I have finally started this new blog. I have no intentions of boring you but I feel like I need to quickly recap the recent happenings in my life before I can fully push this blog forward. I promise I won’t make this three paragraphs long (maybe only two).

Almost a year ago, I decided to start a baking business with two other friends called South Campus Bakery. As Le Cordon Bleu graduates, we were ambitious and inspired to go big, hoping  eventually one day we can all quit our day jobs. We made a lot of progress. Blog was up, Facebook fan page created, Twitter account followers were increasing, a big macaron order, business classes, wedding cake order, and so much more. But as we were rapidly moving forward, I was also realizing that I needed to pursue this baking business dream on my own.

graduation

Like my dad, I’m a risk-taker and a just a teeny-weeny unconventional. I’m very modernistic too and contemporary. It just became clear that my style and approach was disparate than theirs. It was starting to show that there’s this widening gap of business difference among us. It was best for me to blossom on my own and for them to continue on with the business that we started. I love those girls and I will always be their #1 fan. Two talented people who can make killer desserts. I wish them all the luck in the entire universe. If you have any baking needs for a party or whatever, give me a buzz and I will hook you up with SCB.

So that’s my two-paragraph summary of why I am no longer continuing with the South Campus Bakery blog and why I started found, my new baking blog and hopefully my launch pad to finally have a bakeshop of my own. Who am I kidding… I know I will not have a bakeshop anytime soon. It’s just darn too expensive. But eventually, I will.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 5:04 am

    Congrats on your new blog and much luck with your new direction. It was great meeting you at FBF – take care and can’t wait to hear more about your baking adventures!

  2. April 24, 2010 8:30 am

    Hey Kitchen Runway! It was so nice meeting you too at FBF. Thanks super! It’s been a crazy ride this past month but it’s been all awesome. Hope to see you on the next seminar and maybe down in Irvine (my office is in Costa Mesa).

  3. May 4, 2010 3:23 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m looking forward to following your baking and business adventures. I’m terribly impressed by your willingness to take risks and your credentials – Le Cordon Bleu grad – very impressive!

  4. May 4, 2010 9:41 pm

    Hey Kelly! And thanks for swinging by my blog too. Your creations look really amazing. Appreciate the follow… I have a long way to go but hopefully soon (I don’t know if soon means a year or five years), I can move forward with this baking business in full gear.

  5. June 4, 2010 1:06 am

    Oh – you work in CM – let’s do lunch sometime – or better yet – happy hour! =)

    • June 4, 2010 4:37 pm

      Lunch would be lovely… or to your point, HAPPY HOUR! Hehe. Yeah I am so nearby, I might even bump into you while out and about for lunch.

Leave a Reply

