Skip to content

Marshmallows

April 23, 2010

I got the lovely baking book The Craft of Baking by Karen DeMasco as a Christmas present from my Secret Santa last year. Since then, I haven’t had the opportunity to try any recipe from the book . I have read and drooled all over it for sure but I haven’t had the chance to put the book to test… until last weekend.

marshmallows

This past Sunday was my second nephew’s baptism (I have three adorable nephews by the way and I can already predict that you’ll see pictures of them here on the blog often – OBSESSED with those three boys). For the special occasion, I decided to flip the pages of The Craft of Baking and I told myself that after four months in the shelf, it’s about time this book get sprinkled with flour and be stained with vanilla extract.

Little Luke

tags stamped with baby shoes

I wanted to make treats for the family that they can take home as their baptism brunch party favors. When I saw the recipe for Coconut Marshmallows, intrigue and fascination came to me with the idea of combining coconut into pillowy marshmallows. I did not hesitate. This marshmallow idea is BRILLIANT.

pillowy goodness

This marshmallow recipe only uses unflavored gelatin. I have made marshmallows in the past using gelatin and egg whites. I like both methods and I don’t find a huge difference between the two. Making marshmallows is one of the easiest thing to whip up ever. Ingredient list is short, kitchen hardware required is basic, the steps are simple and easy to follow, and most of all there’s no decorating or proofing required. Once the fluffy goodness dries and hardens, they are ready for devouring! I know some people find cooking the sugar and corn syrup a tricky proposition but investing in a candy thermometer solves that problem.

marshmallows jazzed up

Wait, I have not even talked about the coconut yet. I used organic unsweetened coconut for the batch I made. The recipe did not call for any coconut extract so make sure to use the freshest kind you can find to give it a potent coconut punch. I find the organic kind the most flavorful and the texture is finer than regular shredded coconut. The texture of the product obviously is a little bumpy because of the coconut folded in the end. So don’t panic if you see that the texture isn’t normal looking. That’s how it’s supposed to look.

goodie bags

I wrapped the treats in just clear bags and tied a ribbon around it. Simple. If I had more time, I would have packaged them in a box with a clear window on top of the box and a ribbon tied around it. I’ve got another nephew so I guess I’ll do a prettier packaging job on his baptism.

The next recipe I am curious to try from Karen’s book? The entire cake chapter for sure. I dig baking books like hers… books that inspire me when I am in the kitchen testing and developing my own recipes and books that help me hone my craft. Well done Karen.

***Order her book here on Amazon.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 5:14 pm

    Funny thing-I just bought this book today! These marshmallows sound off the hook!

  2. April 26, 2010 8:29 pm

    Hey Kathleen, what a coincidence eh!? You should try making them too. The book is phenom!

  3. Cristina permalink
    May 13, 2010 9:09 am

    I love making marshmallows! I think the whole process is actually fun.

  4. May 14, 2010 11:28 am

    It’s amazing how gelatin (or egg whites) turn into fluffy goodness that are marshmallows.

Leave a Reply

