Skip to content

Rhubarb-Pear Cajeta Galette Part 2

May 2, 2010

Galettes Turned Out Perfect

Happy to report that my rhubarb-pear cajeta galette turned out perfect the second time around. If you missed part 1 of this two-part blog entry, I made a galette with a cajeta rhubarb-pear filling last week. It was my mission this weekend to re-create the delicious pastry because I was not a happy camper when much of the cajeta oozed out of the tart dough as it was baking.

Galettes

Last time, I topped a teaspoonful of homemade cajeta in the tart dough before piling the fruit. This proved to be a not-so-clever idea as the goat milk caramel escaped the dough while it was sitting pretty in the oven. To resurrect myself, I decided to make it again, but this time, I will sauté the rhubarb and the pears with the cajeta in a pan.

I started off by very quickly macerating the fruit in 1 tablespoon of sugar and a bit of lemon juice, about 2 tablespoons – I changed this up from last week when I macerated it in 3 tablespoons of sugar and half a lemon, I realize it didn’t need this much. Then I melted a tablespoon or so of butter in a pan. I immediately dumped my bite-size rhubarb and pear pieces into the pan to sauté (the fruit will only macerate for no more than five minutes). Then I added a 1/4 cup of the homemade cajeta and I let it cook for five minutes. Be careful not to overcook at this stage, you want the fruit to absorb the cajeta flavor but we don’t want it to get cooked through since it will still go in the oven. Strain the fruit and discard the excess liquid.

I piled the cajeta-coated fruit filling on top of my dough and pleated it closed. Then I chilled it for a good 20 minutes before applying my egg wash and sprinkled turbinado sugar all over it. I skipped dotting the fruit with butter this time since it already got the butter dosage it needed during the sauté process.

Galettes on Red Plate

The galettes baked for 30 to 35 minutes at a 375 degrees preheated oven. I have to say, my house smelled fantastic the time the galettes were in the oven. And the best part? No sight of any cajeta mess. Success! The dough was super flaky and not soggy at all and the fruit was not overwhelmingly sweet. The turbinado sugar also added a tiny crunch and helped in boosting the beautiful golden brown color of the crust.

These are best eaten the day it was baked but just as good two days later.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 2:35 pm

    success looks so sweet and and delicious!

  2. May 2, 2010 2:39 pm

    @ravenouscouple – INDEED!

  3. May 3, 2010 4:33 am

    These galettes look so good, I love the rhubard, yummy!

  4. May 3, 2010 9:03 pm

    Thanks Angie! I used to not like rhubarb in the past but over the years I have grown to love it.

  5. June 3, 2010 9:50 am

    Thanks for the follow on Twitter–I’ve done the same.

    As I was paging through your blog, I noticed how familiar it was. Of course, we have the same layout! 🙂

    Your galettes look great. I recently made one, well a crostata, the Italian equivalent. They’re fun, aren’t they?

    Like your blog!

    • June 3, 2010 6:48 pm

      Thanks so much lemonsandanchovies! I think I’ve browsed through a couple other blogs too with the same layout as ours. I like it… clean and simple.

      Galettes/Crostatas are so fun to make. You don’t have to worry about perfectly crimping the crust, just pleat and fold.

Leave a Reply

