Skip to content

Mother’s Day Cookies

May 12, 2010

Mother’s Day weekend was insane for me. I was baking for the Bake For Hope bake sale, baking cupcakes as party favors for my nephew’s baptism and I had to bake 2 dozen cookies for an order I received from my husband’s colleague at school.

The First Order

When I was still part of South Campus Bakery, I made these two wonderful chocolate cookies during one of our recipe development sessions (don’t panic, no usurping going on here, I have ownership of all the recipes I developed for SCB at the time). I made extra batch of cookies so I told my husband to take all the leftovers to his work. You see, my husband is a middle-school teacher… teachers don’t get a lot of freebies they can enjoy. Unlike my field of work (I work at an advertising agency), I am spoiled in receiving a ton of perks, from tickets to sporting events, fabulous lunch dates, T-shirts that I use as pajama shirts, to daily deliveries of baked treats from the most amazing bakeries in LA/OC. So when my husband, Erik, brings treats to work, his co-teachers get really giddy like kids.

One of his co-workers was head-over-heels on my Double Chocolate Espresso Cookies with Walnuts and my Toasted Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies (inspiration from the All-American Dessert Book) that she wanted a dozen each for Mother’s Day.

The Double Chocolate Espresso Cookies with Walnuts is truly my money cookie. It’s chocolatey and has a well-balanced espresso flavor. The Toasted Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Cookies uses powdered sugar instead of granulated sugar and it gives the cookies a nice, crumbly texture. But my favorite part? The aromatic toasted hazelnuts… my entire house is full of toasted hazelnut fragrance. I use whole hazelnuts with skin on and toast it in the oven for 14 minutes or so until golden brown in color and the skin starts to peel off.

I love baking for other people. And I get really emotional when people who have tried my baked products tell me that it’s the best they have ever tasted or their loved ones enjoyed it like I would never imagine. So when I received a short but sweet email from Erik’s colleague who ordered the cookies saying that the treats were purely enjoyed by her kids, I am plain ecstatic.

Email me at foundbaking@gmail.com or DM me @kathdiaz via Twitter if you are curious to know more on how I made these cookies.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 12:37 am

    I’m in love with hazelnuts and those cookies are so calling my name! Thanks for sharing (i.e. tempting us!) I will DM you soon!! haa,haa

  2. May 13, 2010 10:42 pm

    So am I! Hazelnuts are practically my “food” boyfriends. Hahaha!

  3. Christine permalink
    May 16, 2010 10:06 pm

    After I came back from lunch during the Bake for Hope bake sale, I snagged one of your chocolate espresso cookies just in case they all sold out! It was sooo goooddd!!! Hahaa…good luck on everything!

    • May 16, 2010 10:44 pm

      Hey Christine! Hahaha! Thanks so much. Your cupcakes were so cute. It was such a pleasure working the BFH booth with you. I had so much fun. The wind was not our friend that day. Hopefully we could do it all over again next year. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

