Skip to content

Financiers

June 10, 2010

Toasted Almond Topped Financiers

I was totally not ready for the month of June. So far, it’s the most insane month of the year for me… and June barely started.

At my day job, this month is one of the busiest with upfront season in full swing. Sorry for the advertising lingo inserted here. Upfront is that time of the year when all TV networks present their programming grid for the upcoming fall season. Last upfront at another agency, I was lucky enough to see Glee and Modern Family first before the general public. As a media supervisor in an ad agency, it’s part of my job to know and plan what programs we will buy “upfront” for my clients.

Enough of the advertising jargon and back to why my June calendar is filling up fast. So work is crazy with meetings, projects, more meetings, traveling, fire drills, and deadlines dropping like bombs. On the family front, there have been parties aplenty – a wedding, a graduation party, mini vacations, and gatherings. I also did some volunteer work at my husband’s school as chaperone to 12 year old’s’ field trip to the Getty Villa. Then there’s Father’s day festivities. And then, I’ve received a few orders lately all for the month of June: bridal shower party, baked goodies as Father’s  day gifts, Father’s day cookies which I declined since I was traveling early in the week, and a giant company cake due this week which I also declined because of my roller-coaster schedule.

Financier

Last week, I did a test run for a “perfect pair” bridal shower order I’ve got in the books next weekend. They selected pear-shaped decorated Sugar Cookies, French Macarons, and Almond-Pear Financiers for their party favors and desserts. I like to do test runs when I have to bake for someone who is paying. I can do some flavor trial and errors and experiments before deciding on my last recipe. I wanted to test my Almond-Pear Financiers but unfortunately, my pear flavor extract has not yet arrived in my doorstep.

I tested some basic Finaciers anyway. Financiers are popular tea cakes in France made of browned butter, almond flour, egg whites and confectioners’ sugar. I just topped the test batch with a slice of fresh pears just to see how it would come out. I have to say that it wasn’t enough pear flavor for me. So the extract would definitely bring a boost of flavor.

The Mini Bunch

I will be doing a final test this week to finish the recipe. I am thinking of incorporating a few of the following ideas:

  1. Brush the tops with pear syrup using concentrated pear juice (I glazed the financiers with warmed peach preserves in this first test)
  2. Definitely add a teaspoon or two of the pear flavor extract – my order better be here soon
  3. Try using canned pears instead of fresh pears to see if there’s distinguishable flavor difference
  4. Complement the pears with the addition of fresh raspberries – not sure yet about this one
  5. Toast some of the almond flour in the oven for extra nutty flavor
  6. Add vanilla extract or better yet a vanilla bean into the butter as its browning
  7. If my budget allows, bake these guys in a rectangular financier mold… otherwise mini muffin tins will do

I will post the recipe after the last edits and tests. If you have suggestions for me, throw it out. I would love to hear them. Wish me luck, hope the future bride likes these anti-cupcake treats.

I just remembered, Eat My Blog is coming up too. Now, my June is really packed. I’m just praying that I can squeeze in everything without losing it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 8:34 am

    These looks so delicate and moist. I bet they taste great!

  2. June 11, 2010 4:04 pm

    Your June is looking like my July! 🙂

    I’ve never made Financiers before but I’d say yours look great. I like all the variations you are thinking of incorporating–it’s always interesting to discover what tweaks result in an improvement that the baker would be happy with.

    Good luck with your trials! 🙂

    • June 11, 2010 4:28 pm

      So we share the same calendar dilemma lemonsandanchovies. We must keep up! Hahaha!

      Thanks for encouragements. I really needed it. Hopefully the tests all come out good.

  3. June 14, 2010 12:01 am

    Looks delish! Good luck with everything! I’m looking at my calendar & it’s sad that summers are always so booked =( Hang in there and hope to see ya at Eat My Blog! xoxo!

  4. June 27, 2010 5:58 pm

    These are stunning. They would be festive anywhere.

Trackbacks

  1. Pear Financiers – The End Result « found baking

Leave a Reply

