Skip to content

Yellow Cupcakes with Guava-Cream Cheese Frosting

August 11, 2010

yellow cupcakes

Two weekends ago, I participated in a fund-raising event called CupcakeCamp OC. It was a cupcake-filled occasion composed of amateur bakers, food bloggers (including Kitchen Runway and The Food Librarian) and professional cupcake bakeries (Two Parts Sugar, Once Upon A Cupcake, Polka Dots Cupcakery, Frostings Cupcakes, Meringue Bake Shop and more) all working for the same goal of raising money for Xealot, an organization that serve the needs of developing communities in the world that are under served and work directly with a rehabilitation home for young human trafficking victims in Mexico City.

my cupcakes

I donated Yellow Cupcakes topped with a Guava flavored Cream Cheese Frosting for this charity event. I love regular Yellow Cupcakes. They are as classic as a vanilla or chocolate cupcake, yet underused and underrated by most. It can be adorned with any frosting imaginable without really sacrificing flavor combination.

cupcake throne

I decided to use a cream cheese base frosting incorporated with guava preserves. I couldn’t find guava purée (without having to order online) so I settled with sugar-free and all fruit guava preserves. Just note that the preserves “soften” the cream cheese frosting a bit and this won’t be a pipeable frosting. I have heard of people encountering runny cream cheese icing in the past. I have never had issues when making regular cream cheese frosting – it’s always been firm and pipeable for me. If you do come across this nuisance, I suggest adding some heavy cream to the mix to stiffen it up. And make sure to not add way too much powdered sugar too. I find that using slightly cool cream cheese blocks and slightly cool butter helps. Not cold… but not warm either, just a tad cooler than room temperature.

purple sugar flowers

Below are some pictures of the event. All the cupcakes I tried were delicious with flavors ranging from the ultimate crowd-pleaser of Red Velvet to the adventurous Chicken and Waffle. Then at the bottom you will find  the recipe for the cupcakes I donated. Enjoy!

cupcakecamp

pro cupcakes

cupcakes

red velvet

cupcake camp sign

Yellow Cupcakes with Guava-Cream Cheese Frosting

Yellow Cupcake recipe from Cindy Mushet’s The Art & Soul of Baking. I dolloped guava preserves in between the batter. Makes 12 cupcakes.

Yellow Cupcakes

Ingredients:

6 ounces unsalted butter, room temperature

5 1/4 ounces granulated sugar

3 large eggs, room temperature

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

7 ounces sifted cake flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 ounces sour cream, room temperature

1 8-ounce jar guava preserves

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a muffin pan with paper cupcake liners.

2.Sift together the cake flour, baking soda, and salt into a medium bowl (I use parchment paper instead of a bowl). Set aside.

3. Combine the butter with the sugar in a bowl of an electric mixer and cream for about 4 to 5 minutes and until very light in color (almost white). Scrape down bowl.

4. Beat the eggs and the vanilla together in a separate bowl to combine. With the mixer or medium speed, add the egg-vanilla mixture to the butter a little bit at a time. Scrape down often while mixing eggs.

5. Turn mixer to low-speed. Alternately add the flour mixture and sour cream to the mixing bowl, beginning and ending with flour. Do not overmix.

6. Fill the muffin tin with 2-3 tablespoons of batter, then add a tablespoon of guava preserves. Add more cupcake batter on top filling it about 3/4 full. Bake for 15-20 minutes until firm to the touch and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let  cupcakes cool inside the muffin tin for about 10 minutes then remove and completely cool on a wire rack before frosting.

puree

Guava-Cream Cheese Frosting

As mentioned, this frosting is slightly soft in comparison to a regular cream cheese frosting because of the addition of the guava preserves. Make sure to completely chill before using. Do not use a piping bag. Think of this frosting almost like a very thick glaze or a soft and fluffy frosting. If you want it firm, you can add a little bit of heavy cream to the mixture. I skipped adding vanilla extract to the frosting to let the guava flavor shine.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs. of cream cheese, slightly cool than room temperature (Philadelphia brand is my preference)

11 ounces powdered sugar, sifted

8 ounces unsalted butter, slightly cool than room temperature

Zest of 1 lemon

1/4 teaspoon  salt

1 8-ounce jar guava preserves

Directions:

1. Beat the butter and powdered sugar together in a bowl of an electric mixer. Add in the cream cheese. Beat just until no longer lumpy.

2. Add the lemon zest, salt, and guava preserves. Beat until just combined. Chill well before use.

Assembly

1. Using a small offset spatula, frost the top of the yellow cupcakes with the guava-cream cheese frosting. Smooth edges.

2. You can decorate the top with sprinkles, small candies, or sugared flowers like I did.

my cupcakes

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 9:18 am

    What lovely cupcakes! I was drooling over each and every one. And I adore guava (I ate quite a few when I was in Africa) so I’m sure I would love your concoction!

  2. August 12, 2010 9:25 am

    Thank you Monet! I’m sure you’ve had those pastries filled with guava and cream cheese found at dulcerias (Mexican bakeries). They are so delicious and that was kind of the inspiration here. I used to eat guavas back home with tons of salt. I love them!

  3. Baking Barrister permalink
    August 13, 2010 3:53 pm

    I think I would have gained 15 pounds that day if I had been there. I never really thought about adding preserves to frosting for flavor, but it makes total sense. I’m used to people adding powders and such. Hm. Plus I agree–yellow cake is awesome and your cupcakes are adorable (I have seen those wrappers before and wanted them just b/c theyre so cute).

    • August 14, 2010 9:27 pm

      @Baking Barrister – I was so tempted to eat all the cupcakes there but I behaved. Yeah, I fold in preserves to frostings… I’ve also added in preserves to buttercreams. It tastes really good. I have never tried and of the powders yet. I got these paper liners online and when I saw them, I felt compelled to hit order! Hahaha! Thanks so much!!!

  4. August 15, 2010 8:59 am

    Kath, what a wonderful event you participated in–and to taste all those marvelous cupcakes! Personally, I am dying to taste yours the most. I love the idea of the guava cream cheese frosting. Maybe it has something to do with the island mood I’m in right now (in Hawaii)! 🙂 Wow, I’d really like to try these.

  5. August 15, 2010 9:03 pm

    I saw Quyen tweet about the event and I wish I could have participated. I would like to try your guava cream cheese frosting. I love guava preserve and we actually preserve/bottle our own brand in the Philippines. Looking at the pictures Kath, my buttons popped… oops there goes my diet haha…
    Great event for which I’m sure you guys had so much fun but most of all it’s for a cause… very inspiring!

    • August 16, 2010 10:42 am

      Thank you! You guys bottled your own guava preserves? How awesome! I know, so many good cupcakes to try yet so little time and stomach to eat them all. Haha!

  6. August 17, 2010 12:11 pm

    I am in cupcake heaven right now, absolutely beautiful and love the guava in the frosting.

    • August 17, 2010 8:51 pm

      Thanks Nadia. I love guava! You were literally greeted with hundreds of cupcakes at the event. It was overwhelmingly delicious.

  7. August 21, 2010 9:58 pm

    Oh darn! Unfortunately, I didn’t get to taste your cupcake – I was a judge in the professional category. But I love guava and guava cream cheese frosting sounds divine! Thanks for participating in the event (we judges thought many of the amateur entries were better than the professional ones) – it was crazy how many people were there, wasn’t it?

    • August 22, 2010 11:25 am

      Hi Priscilla! Yeah, I knew you were one of the judges. That must be a fantastic time for you? Eat and taste cupcakes all afternoon! I showcased mine at 3:00 pm and not even an hour later, they were gone. There were so many people! The line was so long outside too.

      I look forward to participating again next year!

  8. August 26, 2010 12:01 pm

    i love your take on the guava cupcake! i fill and top mine with guava puree as well!

  9. November 22, 2010 8:37 am

    I was looking for guava recipes and cme across your blog. Now I am a follower.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Yellow Cupcakes with Guava-Cream Cheese Frosting « found baking -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

