Skip to content

Carrot Cake

November 2, 2010

Hi there. It’s been a long while since my last post. Sorry for the inactivity and brief absence. A wave of projects hit work and social life has been excitingly busy lately. I promise that I will try my very best to post as often as I could in spite of the busy planning season at work (summer and winter seasons are exceedingly busy for me at the ad agency).

Carrot Cake

I don’t want to bore you with what I’ve been up to the past few weeks. I’ll find a way to catch you up on the latest and greatest somehow. Here’s my gift to you from my month-long hiatus, a moist and delicious Carrot Cake recipe.

Cake - Side

This cake was supposed to be a birthday cake for a colleague of mine. But since I opted to party at a fashion event at SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills while munching on tapas from Jose Andres, I was not able to assemble the cake for my co-worker (I got home at 1:00 am). The next day I put together the cake and ended up bringing it to Erik’s grandma’s 85th birthday party.

This cake is a Le Cordon Bleu recipe. Fool-proof and tasty. Making it at the school’s kitchen to my kitchen and even at someone else’s kitchen, it always came out perfect.

Cake

This cake uses vegetable oil instead of butter as its fat. The batter is mixed using the “two stage mixing method” where you whip your eggs and sugar to full volume and then incorporating the rest of the ingredients afterwards.

Bake this for your holiday get-together or make it at the next birthday party you’re hosting. It’s a sure-fire crowd pleaser.

Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Recipe from Le Cordon Bleu Schools North America (Le Cordon Bleu College of Culinary Arts in Los Angeles). The carrots help keep the cake ultra-moist. Yields one 10-inch cake. Make sure to use a 10-inch cake pan that’s at least 3 inches in height.

Carrot Cake

Ingredients:

4 eggs

6 oz. vegetable oil

14 oz. sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

9 oz. bread flour

1 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 lb. carrots, grated and peeled

2 1/2 oz. walnuts, chopped and toasted

Directions:

1.Preheat the oven to 350°F. Prepare a round 10-inch cake pan (10×3 round pan) by greasing with a non-stick spray (i.e. Vegalene or Pam baking spray with flour). Place a round parchment paper onto the bottom of the pan and then spray again on the parchment and sides of the pan.

2. In a bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whip the eggs and sugar into full volume using medium-high speed, about 3-4 minutes.

3. Meanwhile, sift dry ingredients together (I sift over parchment paper).

4. Add the oil, sifted dry ingredients, grated carrots, and toasted walnuts into the bowl. Slowly mix until just combined.

5. Pour batter into prepared pan and bake for 40-50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean when inserted in the center (a few crumbs sticking to the tester is okay). Make sure to check the cake halfway through and rotate your pan if your oven has hot spots. Check the cake again at least 10 minutes before the end of baking time. Set on a wire rack to cool for 10-15 minutes. Then invert the cake pan to release the cake and to let cool completely. Set aside.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

8 oz. unsalted butter, softened

1 1/2 lb. cream cheese, softened but slightly cooler than room temperature

11 oz. powdered sugar, sifted

Zest from 1 lemon

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Beat the unsalted butter in a bowl until smooth. Add in the cream cheese and beat until no longer lumpy. Do not overbeat.

2. Gently and slowly add the powdered sugar and mix on low. Add in the lemon zest, salt, and vanilla extract. Beat to combine and until smooth. Set aside.

Assembly

1. Place the cooled cake on a cake turner or a cake pedestal. Slice the cake in three even layers. Remove the top two layers and leave the bottom layer on the cake pedestal. You can use a cake board or a plate to lift the cakes.

2. Spread about 3/4 cup to 1 cup of cream cheese frosting on top of the bottom layer. Spread evenly with a spatula. Place the second cake layer on top and spread more cream cheese frosting. Then top with the last cake layer. Lightly crumb coat the cake with the frosting and chill in the refrigerator for about 15 minutes – just take a thin layer of frosting to spread all over the cake to seal the crumbs.

3. Take the chilled cake and completely frost with the remaining cream cheese frosting. Decorate as desired. You can also take some leftover toasted walnuts and adhere to the sides of the cake (this is a good trick if you are running low on frosting). Enjoy!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2010 7:31 am

    I missed your posts and here you come back with a bang! Welcome back. It’s like you knew I’ve been craving carrot cake all these weeks and did this just for me. 🙂 I don’t really have a favorite recipe so you bet I’ll try this. Your cake looks so beautiful.

    Glad you’re back!

    • November 11, 2010 9:09 pm

      I missed posting too. Glad to be semi-back. Hahaha! Still undergoing very busy phase at work. But I will try to be more visible. Missed reading your posts too!

  2. November 3, 2010 3:55 pm

    This has to be one of the prettiest carrot cakes I’ve seen. We adore the stuff around my house. My husband and I actually served it as our wedding cake. This looks and sounds delicious. I may need to make one in the very near future!

    • November 11, 2010 9:10 pm

      Thanks Monet! I heart carrot cakes too. It’s a classic that will always be on the top of my list.

  3. November 19, 2010 4:32 pm

    your carrot cook looks beautiful! i have not yet ventured into making a full-on cake yet, but carrot will be one of my top choices to make! thanks for inspiring!

    • November 21, 2010 12:40 am

      Thank you Krissy! When you make your carrot cake, I am sure it will be so pretty and delicious. I can’t wait to see your first full-on cake. You are so talented!

  4. December 16, 2010 5:34 pm

    Wow so stunning-what a beautiful photo too.

  5. January 23, 2011 11:10 pm

    Kathy – Wow — your carrot cake is so beautifully decorated! I love carrot cake – it’s actually one of my all time favorites. Funny thing I’ve never tried making it! I’ll have to give this recipe a try soon!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Carrot Cake « found baking -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

