Skip to content

Dry Bar

April 3, 2011

Dry Bar

It’s great to have friends who have awesome PR contacts. Last week, a good friend of mine and I went to the grand opening of Dry Bar in Newport Beach, CA. Dry Bar is fabulous blowout bar where you can sip Champagne, nibble on some goodies and get a blow dry at the same time. Intrigued?

Blow Out

It’s really quite simple. Don’t book an appointment at Dry Bar if you want a hair cut or color. But pick up the phone and get a slot if you want to transform your sleek, straight hair into that Blake-Lively-messy-beachy hair or if you want to trade your gorgeous curls to a smooth and shiny Jen Aniston do. Dry Bar is a premier blow dry bar with four locations in Los Angeles and one in Orange County.

Dry Bar’s Orange County grand opening inside the Atrium Court of the ultra high-class Fashion Island mall was so chic. When we walked in, the place was beautifully decorated with floral arrangements and was bursting in yellow accents. From their “menu” board to the cookie favors, the atmosphere had a real cheery and confident vibe.

Hugs Accepted

The event was catered by Pink Salt, based in Los Angeles, who have previously catered for a variety of Hollywood events (movie premieres, award shows, etc). We munched on delectable tray passed hors d’oeuvres including bite-sized watermelon and feta cheese salad with balsamic vinaigrette. The very friendly staff also passed crostinis topped with ahi tuna and lemon aioli as well as filet of beef crostinis.

Appetizers

My two favorite dishes of the night were sweet treats, obviously. Pink Salt prepared mini lemon tarts topped with lavender that were surely a hit with the upscale crowd. The crust was really buttery and you can taste the salt which I really like in pastry crusts. My most favorite dessert was the warm saffron pudding with pistachios and golden raisins that they presented in a dainty white porcelain cup. This pudding was out of this world delicious that I had two servings back to back. I wanted a third one but I didn’t want to seem too greedy or just plain uncultivated. MMMMM. Just thinking about it is giving me physical pain. I want a bowl of that pudding so bad RIGHT NOW. They also served bite-sized cherry upside down cakes which were pretty moist but the pudding stole the show for me.

Lemon Tartlets

 

Saffron Pudding

We washed down all these scrumptious eats with a refreshing Champagne drink flavored with St. Germain liqueur and lemon juice. We found ourselves hanging out at the bar a lot because we kept wanting more of this bubbly drink. It was a fun night indeed and we went home with individually wrapped white chocolate and walnut cookies also made by Pink Salt. I didn’t get a chance to taste this cookie because I gave up chocolate for lent (in all shape or form and that includes white chocolate). Bummer, I know. But my friend tells me they were delicious as well. I broke up the cookie when I got home and saw that it might have golden raisins inside too.

St. Germaine

Cookies

Dry Bar is that perfect outing you can schedule with your BFFs. We are already talking about coming back there with a bunch of girlfriends. I foresee an in-depth chatter about James Franco and nail polish color as we get our blow out and sip our Champagne.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2011 6:56 pm

    What a super creative idea ! I adore St. Germaine and I bet the cocktails and food are amazing! Have a great week!

  2. davidavalentina permalink
    April 5, 2011 10:01 pm

    Love St. Germaine! Great post!

  3. davidavalentina permalink
    April 5, 2011 10:04 pm

    Love the hugs accepted till 9pm! Wishing they had one in OZ, Melbourne!

  4. April 6, 2011 9:29 pm

    This is how I would want to spend a Friday night with one of my best girl friends. What a unique and creative concept. I want to go…now! Thank you for sharing your culinary explorations…you inspire me, and I’m glad to know you. I hope you have a blessed day tomorrow. Much love and hugs from Austin!

Leave a Reply

