Skip to content

Summer Peach Cake

September 18, 2011
tags:

Peach Cake

Ripe peaches are still abundant at my farmers market about this time in September at 69 cents a pound. Yes, 69 cents a pound. You can’t help but be a bit giddy like Cosmo Kraemer where he raved about  the fictional Mackinaw peaches from Oregon that are only ripe for 2 weeks in a year. I think that’s my first ever Seinfeld reference on this blog which is odd because I can pretty much cite parallelisms about my life and Seinfeld… and FRIENDS… and Curb Your Enthusiasm. #tvaddict

Peach Cake

So before summer is officially over, head to your market and buy extra more peaches to make this wonderfully easy Peach Cake. Cook’s Illustrated has been my bible this past summer. I hosted an epic BBQ gathering at my house not too long ago for my rowdy yet harmless friends and I used a handful recipes from Cook’s to serve at my party. One of which was this delightfully rustic cake that I served with sweetened crème fraiche and crème Chantilly (sweetened vanilla whipped cream). I thought the use of dried peaches (or dried apricots as substitute) to sprinkle on top of this cake before topping the cake with fresh ripe peaches was brilliant because it helped prevent the fruit from sinking down. Whether it’s an end-of-summer party, or Sunday get-together with the family, or simply your afternoon snack (no I won’t judge if you eat this whole thing by yourself), this Peach Cake is fool-proof and wholesomely satisfying.

Ciao summer and bonjour fall!

Cake For Two

This cake recipe is from Cook’s Illustrated. Since I did not adapt the recipe, and more so out of respect to their business model, here’s a link on how you can start a free trial to their membership to get access to the full recipe of this Peach Cake.

I’ve said it here before that I will include within the post recipes I adapted or recipes of my own (which I will admit I hardly do because my blog is not ad-supported and not generating money and I would like to leave it that way). For other recipes I only executed to test, I will source where the recipe came from (whether it came from a book, magazine article, web article, or fellow blogger) so you can buy their books or visit their site. As an advertising-for-my-day-job kinda person, I would hate to type the recipe for your ease of use without me adapting or without their permission. They deserve to get paid. Thanks and happy baking!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2011 8:36 pm

    I agree…Cook’s Illustrated is AMAZING. This is too tempting! I want a plate of this cake right now instead of my boring plate of crackers. I should have known not to visit…you’re always making me hungry 🙂 Love and hugs from Austin!

    • September 23, 2011 11:42 am

      Love getting my hugs from Austin! Cook’s Illustrated is one of a kind and has for sure changed my ways in the kitchen. Have a grand weekend!

  2. September 26, 2011 9:16 am

    Seinfeld is so fun to quote and there’s so many memorable food references and themes used throughout the seasons 🙂

    I’m not ready for summer produce to be over, but I am done with Summer and ready for Fall. I’m picking up some peaches today at the market and may be making this cake for the week to enjoy. Thanks for the inspiration 😉

    • September 26, 2011 11:24 am

      I can quote Seinfeld at any given moment. I forgot another show that I absolutely love and mirrors my daily life… How I Met Your Mother! Love that show. Thanks for visiting and go grab those peaches before they run out.

  3. September 27, 2011 7:55 am

    This is peachy and delicious…I really enjoy your posts.

  4. September 27, 2011 6:44 pm

    Nothing like a bowl of peaches on your kitchen counter crying out to be used in a peach cake! I agree Cook’s Illustrated is a delicious resource;-)

Leave a Reply

