Skip to content

Lola Gloria and Abuelita Herme

November 27, 2011
tags:

My heart is sunken. My thoughts obscure. I lost two incredible women in a span of 8 days. My grandmother Gloria passed away last week at age 86. My husband’s grandmother Hermelinda (who’s his godmother too) passed away this week, also at age 86. Both women are kind, selfless, giving, and great cooks. My grandma, or my Lola, taught me how to make a carrot cake (sans frosting, she doesn’t believe in frosting for her carrot cake) and banana bread. Erik’s grandma, or his Abuelita, had the best chicken soup recipe that he now makes for both of us. Two incredible women that this world is now devoid of. Grandmothers are special… they teach us, they inspire us, they make us better.

Pardon my absence. My hectic and demanding work has usually been the culprit of my semi-hiatus here. I think now it’s obvious that my MIA status is because I badly miss my two favorite people in this world.

*Also remembering Erik’s Abuelita Lupe who we lost 2 years ago at the alarming age of 86 as well. Another dynamic woman and another favorite person.

We love you fair ladies in heaven. Keep us safe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2011 8:39 pm

    May their souls rest in peace….Ameen….

  2. November 30, 2011 4:27 pm

    My prayers are with you and your family. Loss of such precious women within a span of 8 days must be heartbreaking. Please let me know if I can do anything for you.

Leave a Reply

