Skip to content

Fire Truck Cake

December 26, 2011

Diaz Holiday Card

First off, a belated Merry Christmas to all of you! The last two months have been insane… both good and bad. The parties and family gatherings have been a blast. Loved ones, alcohol, music, and good food are truly the four essentials to a great party. But as much fun and great laughs we had during this memorable holiday season, we can’t help but morosely look back at the loss of my grandmother and my husband’s.

The hustle and bustle that comes along the busy month of December proved to be a nice distraction from our recent losses. Trips to the always-crowded malls, frustrating lines at the grocery stores, fighting for limited parking spots, waiting at the post office only to find out they ran out of holiday stamps, and countless emails/calls to a favorite retailer because they messed up my online order. Yup, the stress of Christmas surely reminded me to be more like our grandmas – to remember to not sweat the small stuff.

Despite the craziness, I sure hope you all got to spend quality time with your loved ones. That you continued with family holiday traditions even if one important person isn’t there anymore to celebrate with you.

Fire Truck Cake

I want to leave with the Fire Truck Cake I made for my nephew’s birthday in November, before Erik’s Abuelita passed. Even though she was already too weak to join us for Landon’s birthday party, I knew that she would have been so impressed with this cake.

Birthday Cake

My sister-in-law’s theme for his 2nd birthday was fire trucks. So I was tasked to make a fire truck cake to go along her flame cupcakes. I have to say, this cake was heavily inspired by Heather of Heather Drive Blog. She made a Fire Truck Cake herself that was so awesome, I pretty much used her fire truck cake advice and ideas to make mine. She was actually inspired by another blogger, Julie, of Peanut Butter and Julie, who also made a fire truck cake! I love how this cake has evolved from one person’s great imagination to the next. So thank you Heather and Julie! You guys are cake rock stars!

Big Red Truck

Fire Truck Cake

My cake is homemade Vanilla Genoise with orange syrup and Orange Buttercream. Since this cake is so labor-intensive, I say forget about making your cake and frosting from scratch, feel free to use a boxed cake and store-bought icing because you will need a lot of time to assemble this cake. Trust me, do that if you want to save time. I made my cake and frosting from scratch… well, because that’s my preference, even though I had to stay up all night to finish the cake (especially after a long night at work). In the end, the kids will just poke the cake, eat off the icing and pretty much destroy it, which at that point, the adults will say, “no thank you” to the cake since it’s been touched and abused by the little ones. It’s probably also extra slick by the time the candle blowing scene has taken place… you have seen drool when kiddies fight to blow the candles, right? I don’t have kids but I know that legitimately happens (#truestory). That’s why you have extra goodies, like cupcakes or shots of tequila, to keep the adults happy.

Kids Poke Cake

Proof that kids poke whatever's on the table

Have a happy new year y’all!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2011 10:29 pm

    wow- wonderful job on this cake! It’s precious!

  2. December 29, 2011 5:23 pm

    Kathy, This cake is gorgeous. You are the best aunt!! Sorry to hear about your losses. 😦 but you will have many fond memories of both!

    • December 30, 2011 9:57 am

      It’s been an emotional roller coaster to say the least. Thank you for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

