Skip to content

Pumpkin Raisin Walnut Muffins

November 17, 2012

Pumpkin Raisin Walnut Muffins

Pumpkin Raisin Walnut Muffins

Ahh fall. My favorite season of the year. During this wonderfully cool time, my chunky scarves finally get a little breathing room after being buried in my drawer for 7 months. I can justify again the amount of money I’ve spent on boots – tall, ankle, riding, wellies, suede, calf, combat, animal skin, shearling, chelsea, shiny black, matte black, distressed brown, smooth brown, cognac, and orange red (don’t judge). And that coat I bought on sale back in April will prove to be this year’s best buy.

But what really entices me about this time of year is the idea of spending hours in the kitchen baking fall-inspired treats including our favorite fall ingredient: pumpkin.

The SoNo Baking Company Cookbook by John Barricelli has this incredibly delicious yet super easy recipe for Pumpkin Raisin (Walnut) Muffins. I made the walnut variation not only by adding walnuts to the batter but also topping it with chopped walnuts. Insanely good. That one small change of sprinkling walnuts on top really elevated the muffins.

Pumpkin Raisin Walnut Muffins

Here’s a not-so-new tip… toast the walnuts that get folded in the batter for a nutty flavor but leave the walnut topping untoasted so it doesn’t end up tasting burnt – you don’t want the nuts to take two trips in the oven.

You’ll notice, I still haven’t gotten over the Sprinkles-initiated brown paper liners. Still obsessed.

John Barricelli also has a new-ish book out called The Seasonal Baker. I haven’t had a chance to get my copy but I think I know what I’m asking the hubby to get me for Christmas.

The SoNo Baking Company Cookbook available here. The Seasonal Baker book available here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

